Chirping Crickets…

…is now βˆ‘XCE7ION. Please visit us at http://exce7ion.kokidokom.net/

Welcoming the New Year 2009

So another year has passed…honestly, I could care less but what the heck. I’ll just go with the New Year spirit – basically, another chance at life New Year resolutions? What a joke. I have yet to find a person who completely went by their resolutions.

I originally wanted to write about Anime moments from 2008 like almost everyone else is doing, but heck I didn’t watch that much anime until around Fall of that same year when I started blogging. Even then, I got interrupted by RL necessities like school and health that I had to take a hiatus. So my selection of these so-called moments is pretty much zero, zilch or nada. I instead decided to put down my floor plan for the year.

Real Life

During May of this year, I will be finishing up my years in community collegeΒ  so that I can transfer to a university. Things will get a little hectic for me this Spring since I’ll be spending a lot of time and effort to get in to this one particular university…that is, the one by where I live. Dorming here cost a shitload of money (about $10k per year)…so in essence, I could solve that dilemma if I can get in to that school. It’s not like it’s some average university either…it’s one of the good engineering schools in the state.

So yes…the early months of 2009 will be reserved for appeasing the gods known as admission. Furthermore, I need to do it with as much money I can get. With tuitions ever increasing, my ineligibility for financial aid, and my refusal to take loans, I am only left with scholarships. And what does that mean? It means applying like there’s no tomorrow and trying to make your transcript as pretty possible as if it were entering a beauty pageant. There goes the first few chunks of the new year…

Blogosphere

There’s always room for blogging, maybe not as much time as before but there’s always going to be room. So for the winter of the new year, I plan to blog at most, three series. Two series for my own blog and one for somebody else’s blog, plus the ongoing ones from Fall 08.

I am getting frustrated with the limits of the free version of WordPress. That is why around mid-January, I will be purchasing hosting along with a domain so that I can move into self-host WordPress. This I decided while at least considering to join ‘networks’ that offer free hosting and a subdomain. It was a good idea at first but nah…it ain’t worth the things you have to go through to apply. I’m not the kind of person who waits under an apple tree with my mouth wide open, waiting for the fruit to fall. F*ck that shit.

So yes, if you’re one of the people in my blogroll who’s been contemplating to move into self-host WP but can’t afford to or is not willing to spend, use the contact form to get to me. I’m willing to provide hosting since I’m getting so much for so little anyway.

And that my friends, is my floor plan for the year 2009.

10 Comments

  Kairu Ishimaru wrote @

Happy New Year!

  gordon wrote @

good luck with your plans in 2009. cheers!

  Kitsune wrote @

Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

I wish you good luck in your studies and blogging πŸ™‚

I thought about moving to a self-hosted WP, but the free WP version is good enough for me. Thanks for your offer though πŸ™‚

  Panther wrote @

Man, Happy New Year. Good luck with the own hosting and stuff, always good for topical bloggers.

  53RG10 wrote @

Happy New Year!

And good luck with your studies and tuition, hope it all works out.

  Maura wrote @

Happy New Years

~i think we already said this~

  Minnie wrote @

Happy very late New Year~

Personally, I am a first year to a community college and will transfer to a university after my second year too. I’m glad there are others out there taking the smart road. πŸ˜‰

Thank you for adding our blog and the comment. πŸ™‚ What happen with your team btw if you don’t mind me asking? I know how hard going solo can be >been there for 4 days<

But in any case, of course we’ll return the favor and add you back. ^_^ Hope you enjoy the rest of your break.

  Legionarion Conquistadorz wrote @

Happy New Year!
and yeah, good luck with the hosting and stuff. πŸ˜€

  kanzeon wrote @

Belated Happy New Year ^_^. Lol sorry for the super-late greeting T.T
Good luck with all the stuff in store for you this year, 7!

[…] who isn’t already aware from perhaps the first post of the new Metanorn or from 7’s very own offer on his now old blog (I’m going to kind of miss the title “Chirping Crickets” I […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

